Naval Logistics Support

The Naval Logistics Support Partnership (NLSP) was established in 2010 (replacing the former Port Services Support Conference) and comprises of 15 member NATO navies and several Trial navies. Its main mission is to meet the needs of the NLSP Member States in terms of military effectiveness by providing contracted solutions for their navies. This includes providing fuel and services in over 500 foreign ports worldwide.

At the nations' request, NSPA is continuing to expand its services to cover a growing range of activities, such as provision of critical spare parts, freight forwarding to foreign ports, emergency maintenance and repair of naval equipment and systems (including dry-docking and underwater repairs), as well as providing outline agreements for commonly used naval systems, and cross servicing agreements.

The NLSP is actively supporting NATO and European Union vessels engaged in anti-piracy operations and has provided support to 10,000 visits of its member navies.

Coverage is provided in all major ports in the following areas:

  • African coast (East): Djibouti, Kenya, Maldives, Mozambique, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa and Tanzania.
  • African coast (West): Angola, Benin, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Senegal and Togo.
  • African coast (South): Namibia, South Africa.
  • Asia and Indian Ocean: Bangladesh, China, Diego Garcia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Pakistan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.
  • Australia: Australia.
  • Baltic Sea: Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia and Sweden.
  • Black Sea: Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine.
  • Caribbean Sea: Antigua, Bahamas, Bermuda, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Netherlands Antilles and Puerto Rico.
  • Mediterranean Sea: Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Egypt (including Suez Canal), France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia and Turkey.
  • North Atlantic (East and West coasts): Canada, France, Ireland, Portugal, Spain and the United States.
  • North Sea: Belgium, Channel Islands, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Germany, Greenland, Iceland, the Netherlands, Norway and United Kingdom.
  • Persian Gulf: Bahrain, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates.
  • South America: Argentina, Brazil, Columbia, Chile, Ecuador, Panama, Peru, Uruguay.

NSPA has assured access contracts with main ship agents who provide the services. These contracts are established through competition to ensure cost-effectiveness.

To become an NLSP member, nations may declare their interest to NSPA and attend bi-annual NLSP meetings which are also attended by the major NATO Naval Commands. Full members are entitled to full use of the NLSP’s services for an annual administrative cost. Trial member nations are authorized to make a full use of the services at an administrative cost of 500 Euros per LOGREQ during the first year of their trial, and 1000 Euros for subsequent years, in order to assess the benefits of the project. They may subsequently opt to join the NLSP as full members.

NSPA does not stock weapon systems or ammunition in any of its facilities.

To obtain the Operating Procedures for these services or for additional information, e-mail:

ISO 9011