What is NSPO?

The NATO Support and Procurement Organisation (NSPO) is a NATO subsidiary body created by the North Atlantic Council with a view to meeting to the best advantage the collective requirements of all or a group of NATO nations in the fields of acquisition, capability, support and logistics provision to NATO and its constituent nations. The Council granted the NSPO a clearly defined organisational, administrative and financial independence within the framework of the North Atlantic Treaty through the approval of its Charter, which entered into effect on 1 April 2015.


The mission of the NSPO is to provide responsive, effective and cost-efficient acquisition, including armaments procurement; logistics; operational and systems support and services to the Allies, NATO Military Authorities and partner nations, individually and collectively, in time of peace, crisis and war, in order to maximize the ability and flexibility of their armed forces, contingents, and other relevant organisations, within the guidance provided by the NAC, to execute their core missions.

The NSPO comprises the Agency Supervisory Board (ASB), the legislative entity, and the NATO Support and Procurement Agency (NSPA), its executive body. In addition, two Programme Boards established through the Charter form an integral part of the NSPO and govern the activities of the Central Europe Pipeline System (CEPS) and NATO Airlift Management (NAM) Programmes. The NSPO Independent Secretariat is responsible for supporting the various governing bodies.

The Agency is a customer-funded (no profit, no loss) organisation and the Armed Forces of NSPO's states and NATO Allied Commands are its primary customers. For details of the Agency’s current activities, go to About NSPA.


NSPO comprises all NATO nations, i.e. Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom and the United States.